Alvin Akuamoah’s, Hey DIddleWapWap, A Sad Sad Kinda Love.

Black-American-soldier-at-a-nightclub-1943-426x286

Jazz Lead: Hey diddle…Heyyyy diddle….Heyyyyy diddle wapwap

She looked so lonely from the back of the room, my heart went out for her. I had noticed her walk in, the awkwardness in her gait , the way she looked around, like she was scared, she was afraid, a thousand faces laughing and pointing fingers, hey hey, Roger, see! She made me sad for no reason, my heart went out for her.

And the jazz continued and the drinking and merry making, but beer tasted bad on my tongue and i couldn’t stop looking, I thought of all the love she’d given that had probably been unrequited, it made me sad, really sad, it made me sad for no reason.

She noticed, cause she looked up, her purple beer or whatever whitewoman drink is untouched and she smiled … a desperate smile, like she was so glad for the attention…and i was sad, so i smiled.

Hey diddle…Heyyyy diddle….Heyyyyy diddle wapwap

I didn’t want my friends to see, i knew well that they’d laugh, say all the wrong things, make her sadder than she came. So i waited till they were to leave, and i told them i would stay, spend the money i had won betting on one fine 5 shillings babe. They laughed and they left…and the jazz played and i stared.

Not because she was so pretty, truth is that was far from the truth, but you see i was sad, cause i knew that she was sad, that she felt ugly and unwanted, i pictured all the harsh words, and so i stared, so she’d feel good, and be happy because of the black soldier at the bar, at least one good thing off this trip, not take life, make someone happy.

Hey diddle…Heyyyy diddle….Heyyyyy diddle wapwap

When she got up, i was ready, i had already made up my mind. She held my hand and i followed, she knew i didn’t know her tongue. Everybody stared, all the other blacks in the room, and White Barman Will, he looked at me, nodded and winked that diddlewap

Heydiddleawapwaprerockedplayedadultgamesheydiddlewapwapwewenttillwebothcame

While i pulled up my brown nikka she lay in bed still with that smile. She covered her face and laughed and laughed , she made me happy for no reason. The smile stayed on her face, step step, click went the door. She run up naked with some money, shook my head lediddlewap, pointed to her face, bent a little, whispered, “you, butifuu” into her ear.

Hey diddle…Heyyyy diddle….Heyyyyy diddle wapwap

THE END.

4 thoughts on “Alvin Akuamoah’s, Hey DIddleWapWap, A Sad Sad Kinda Love.

Leave a Reply

